Pirate Monkey Visits – The Uffizi

Hey welcome back! Heres some links to my last travel blog and my last hobby blog!

 

img_2178

 

I’m going to try to keep these short and sweet with a bunch of pictures from this point forward. Eventually once I finish all of these I’ll start to do write ups on specific pieces and what can be learned and translated to miniature painting! For now the format will be changed with a little blurb about the museum and my thoughts followed by sets of images in different classifications of what visual information they can offer if you would like more categories or less let me know.

Mini Tutorial!

If you have access to photo editing program put the images in those and color pic to see what colors are being used!

 

michael-angelo-pallet-photo-1

 

For example I love How Michelangelo Painted Mary’s Pink shirt and Blue skirt. I imported it into photoshop and color picked to make this color palette that I can reference later.

 

michael-angelo-pallet-1

The colors may not be 100% accurate because of your camera but it will be close enough that you can still learn from them! This is something that helped me improve my painting very quickly because my color knowledge was coming from master works.

End mini tutorial.

Sculptors there’s will  be a section in here for you at the end! (CNTL + F Sculpture and it will shoot you down there)

 

img_2167

 

The Uffizi Is one of Florence’s premier galleries Its construction was finished in the mid 16th century and was originally used as a government building. Its giant U shape design is three floors high and has about the same square footage as a 2 and a half football fields. over all. I was fortunate enough to get to visit this repository of renaissance art during my stay in Florence this summer and it left me in a daze.

Here is a selection of photos that I took that can be used for inspiration that I reference frequently. If I encounter a problem I borrow from these master pieces colors and compositions. Each photo will be tagged with some key general things that stick out to me that can be referenced. There is more in there then the tags such as patterns and unique materials. Happy Painting!

Feel Free to download these you have my full permission to!

PAINTING

 

img_2207
Multi figure composition, Pinks, Blues, Reds, Skintones, Nmm
img_2169
multifigure composition, skintones, black, yellow, white

 

img_2166
multi figure composition, Skin tones, blue, red, illumination
img_2165
Multi figure composition, skintones, blue, yellow, red, NMM
img_2162
Multi figure composition, skintones, white, pink, translucent cloth.
img_2163
Multi figure composition, white, pink, blue,

 

img_2137
multi figure composition, pink, white, blue, illumination.
img_2201
small composition. Single light source, Skintones, Yellow, Red, White.
img_2200
Small composition, Single light source,, Skintones, Yellow, Red, Blue, Turquoise 
img_2159
Small composition, General light source, Skintones, Pink, Blue, Yellow.
img_2158
Portrait, General light. Skin Tones, Red, Blue
img_2157
Small composition, Skintones, Yellow, Red , Blue, Green, White.
img_2151
Small composition. Skintones, White, Blue.
img_2146
Portrait, Skintone, Red, black, yellow.
img_2206
Portrait, Skinrtone, NMM
img_2202
Portrait, Skintone, green
img_2181
Portrait, NMM, Skintones
img_2179
Portrait, Skintones, Pink, Purple, NMM
img_2178
Portrait, Skintones, Wood, Wings, Pink, White.
img_2152
Portrait, Skintones, Transparent cloth
img_2150
portrait, Skintones, White, Black
img_2148
Portrait, Skintones, Ambience.
img_2147
Portrait, Skin Tones, Ambience.

 

 

 

SCULPTURE

 

img_2234

 

img_2228

 

img_2233

 

img_2218

 

img_2227

 

img_2230

 

img_2231

 

img_2229

 

img_2232

 

img_2226

 

img_2224

 

img_2205

 

img_2204

 

img_2203

 

img_2173

 

img_2171

 

img_2161

 

img_2145

 

 

 

 

   Miniature Sculpture

img_2144

 

img_2143

 

img_2138

 

img_2142

Leave a comment