Paris and the Louvre

Welcome Back! This time we Adventure to a little flat outside of central Paris and visit the Louvre one of the world’s larges and In this artist’s opinion greatest museums

14455867_10153805763606937_710125791_o

I arrived in Paris just before the afternoon. I had to wander around the station for a little while to figure out that my bike was at the large package delivery, and that I had to go to the back left alleyway in the station to get there. It’s shocking how little the station has changed since Monet painted it.

 

After picking up my bike I started to get my various bags onto it. While I was getting ready, the Paris police were doing some training for riot control. Paris was a turbulent place to be while I was there. Riots and flooding where the state of the city during my stay. I got my GPS set and was on my way to my AirBnb in Courbevoie.

 

 

The four and a half mile cycle was intense; you are very much a part of the traffic. There are a lot of bicycle paths, of course, but sometimes the pedestrians are more dangerous than the traffic. I did a little monkey-see-monkey-do, and followed the other cyclists, weaving in and out of streets until I arrived in Courbevoie and met my host. She was the sweetest French woman, She met me on the street with a smile on her kind round face. She helped me carry my bags upstairs and we had some nice and short conversations with our phones translating for us. After getting settled in, I took a quick jaunt out to pick up some food from the local grocery. I stopped by a bakery and picked up a sandwich and a baguette to snack on later. I walked to the flooded river Seine, and sat at the Parc de Becon to eat my sandwich on the steps overlooking Paris.

 

14466958_10153805751356937_302710481_o

 

The next morning I woke up, got dressed, and went on my way. I headed to the Metro. The walk over the bridge to the station was refreshing and cool.

 

14438973_10153805765851937_790526628_o

 

It took me a little while to figure out what ticket I needed, but after 10 minutes I finally got one, and was on my way to the Louvre. The Metro has a old-school feeling to it; not too much had been modernized, but that only made it more memorable.

 

14438820_10153805751591937_57541480_o

 

I got off at the Museum stop, and made my way to a little cafe for a quick breakfast of eggs and croissants.

 

14456902_10153805752001937_2033421405_o

 

It was rainy and grey, but my spirits were high as I crossed the street to make my way into the world’s largest museum. That’s no joke–for my American readers, it’s nearly eleven and a half American football fields packed with historic artifacts, sculpture, and paintings.

 

14446339_10153805765846937_1818681260_o

My experience in the Museum started with me walking down a long sculpture garden full of Roman and Greek marbles, halls filled with the heroes of the ancient world, who stood in eternal guard over their Parisian palace.

14374539_10153805752291937_328357320_o

I worked my way up the stairs, and took a right to move into the Italian painting section.

14466901_10153805752381937_371535838_o

These guys were the masters: Leonardo, Titian, Raphael Caravaggio, Botticelli, and many others filled the halls in this section. I even got to see the Mona Lisa. It’s much smaller than I thought.

The tourists in museum were packed into this room with their selfie sticks. The worst, though, are the tours. They drove me nuts, blocking up entire halls. [Steps off soapbox.]

14466409_10153805752406937_1920841399_o

 

The Spanish Masters greeted me next: El Greco, Goya, Ribera. This section was a little bit smaller, but inspiring, nonetheless. After this I just explored. I cannot remember the exact order, but I explored sections of Egyptian and Greek antiquities and sculpture.

 

 

These amaze me the most in some ways. They achieved sculptural feats that were not to be surpassed until the renaissance. The halls filled with the treasures and the rooms still left fully decorated from that period were sublime in their beauty. These were the sections I wish I had more time with.

 

 

My next mission was to locate the French painters on the second floor. Somehow the stairs eluded me; but that meant that that I was just going to see more art. Eventually I found the french painters: Delacroix, Burgeroue, Jacques-Louis David, Jonkind. There were lots of classical French Salon painters, and just a small section for the impressionists.

 

 

I was a little bit disappointed–this is what I came to Paris for! I have loved the impressionists since I was 8 years old. So I sat down and took a rest in this small section, my ankle already sore from the day’s walk, and started looking for what I wanted.

 

 

I was elated to find out that the Musee D’Orsay was only a short walk over the river.

With my spirits lifted, I began to work my way back down the way I came in. Halfway down the sculpture hall, a man started herding people back to the stairway. The hall and all of the lower portions of the Louvre were closed due to the flooding. They had started evacuating the masterpieces housed on the lower levels.

 

14393798_10153805757391937_1341591471_o

 

It was a surprise, but the hall was entirely empty; and it is not something that happens often. I checked my map and after some minutes, I exited into the rainy streets of Paris on my way to the Musee D’Orsay.

 

 

Thank you again for reading my Travel blogging. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them and sharing them with you!

Here is a folder filled with all of the pictures I took at the Louvre. I hope they serve as inspiration for my fellow painters and sculptors. Please share this to your personal page and also to any groups that may find it helpful. I also encourage you to do studies from these paintings!

http://piratemonkeystudio.imgur.com/

(If you click the gear it gives you the option to download album.)

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Paintings_in_the_Louvre

Another resource!

One thought on “Paris and the Louvre

Leave a Reply

